Kids’ Painted Mousepad Project

2 August 2009 at 11:50 pm 6 comments

I was asked to teach a craft class at the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Raleigh as part of a memorial gift in the name of my dear friend, Nancy Kevin.  Previous experience has illustrated that no one has any fun when I’m in charge of children,* but since this was for Nancy, I agreed to do it.  I took my camera to the class, but was too frazzled to get any pictures of the kids’ completed projects.   Here, though, are the directions in case some other intrepid soul is better suited to working with children.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I ordered some inexpensive blank mousepads from eBay and played around with different dyes and paints to see what would work on the mousepad surface.  I decided I liked Dye-na-Flo’s colors and the way it reacted with salt for this project.  It’s also fairly economical (unless you have an out-of-control nine-year-old boy in your class).   Note well:  Being a dye, it’s also a stain-maker, so if someone has sent their darling daughter to crafts class in her best summer sun dress and not sent a smock, be prepared for trouble.  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1. Fold a square of freezer paper snowflake style and cut designs into it to make a stencil.  Don’t let the children’s designs get too complicated.  Use a little bit of glue from a glue stick to hold the stencil in place on the mousepad. 

2. Apply the color with a fairly dry sponge, being careful to hold the stencil in place.  If the sponge is too wet, the color will seep under the stencil. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3. Sprinkle kosher salt over the dye areas while still fairly wet.  Carefully lift off the stencil. 

4. Wait a few minutes to let the salt settle and do its magic.  Have big plastic bags available for children to take their projects home, because you certainly don’t want to wait around for their parents to remember to pick them up.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As you can see, even if the stencil isn’t held in place, the results are still satisfying.  Thank goodness.

(And thank goodness I know that Nancy has a sense of humor, watching me from above. )

* I once dragged a noisy child into the supply closet with me to have a private religious education class when my husband was trying to teach the rest of the class.  Don’t even ask about the shrieking Girl Scouts on the weekend camping trip.  “Of course there are bugs:  we’re in the woods, girls.”  

Entry filed under: All Posts, latest projects. Tags: , , , , .

Pure, Strong Color Wordful Wednesday

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kimberly hanson  |  9 August 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Love the tutorial, love the vision of you teaching the class, love the stories, love the laugh you gave me!!! lol!!!

    Reply
  • 2. altheap  |  6 August 2009 at 8:14 am

    Please note: I thought it might be a good idea to give mousepads a coating of spray sealer. DON’T DO IT! It seems to gum up the bottom of the mouse.

    Reply
  • 3. SendingLoveGallery  |  3 August 2009 at 8:37 pm

    made me smile! love the project too

    Reply
  • 4. Joni Stinson  |  3 August 2009 at 11:05 am

    Love the mouse pads and thanks for sharing the technique. My grandkids might enjoy this project.

    Reply
  • 5. Martha  |  3 August 2009 at 10:08 am

    Better you than me, my friend. My idea of a large class of children is 3. The ideal is 1. LOL

    Reply
  • 6. Zuda Gay Pease  |  3 August 2009 at 8:48 am

    Hehe….I applaud you, Janine, for your bravery! What a great project and I’m sure their parents were thankful for a bit of time without their darlings and were impressed by the lovely mouse pad their child created with your guidance!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


1000 Markets
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 28,066 hits

Good Reads

Widget_logo

Archives

Tweets

Feeds

art, artists, silk painting, Etsy, iconography, symbolism, scarves, serti

Webring

Powered by WebRing®.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.
FB.init("a8742a2ce04745d70e95e39516f4d1e0");
Janine Maves on Facebook

