Questionable Motifs in Art

19 May 2009 at 11:15 am Leave a comment

I don’t know why, but I take perverse pleasure in painting unexpected things on frogbag2beautiful silk.  A few years ago, I kept putting ants across the hems of sophisticated silk scarves.  This year it’s frogs and motorcycles.   This bright orange frog is on view at my 1000 Markets shop. blkcycle1

I’ve blogged about my motorcycles before, but just finished the last of them for the Dakota Art Gallery in Sturgis, South Dakota; you know, the place that has the huge motorcycle rally where John McCain offered up Cindy during last year’s presidential campaign?  (It’s one of the most memorable moments in campaign history.)

medieval2I was inspired by some medieval tapestries at the Cloisters in New York last winter to design this scarf with large color areas . . . but then the sixth grader in me insisted on decorating it with symmetrical frogs.  This one’s also going to the Dakota OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         Gallery. 

 

The elegant  taupe charmeuse on the right is decorated with all sorts of creepy crawlies climbing over it. monkey6

I’m afraid I must’ve got too weird when I decided to put a snarling monkey on this pretty pink and blue lotus scarf.  It’s one of the few things that’s been around for years, unsold.

martian2 I hit the mark with a fellow sci-fi fan, though, on this landscape from the Martian Chronicles:  it sold the minute I listed it!

 

Entry filed under: All Posts, art and artists, symbols / personal iconography. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Blue Wear It Out Market

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


1000 Markets
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 28,066 hits

Good Reads

Widget_logo

Archives

Tweets

Feeds

art, artists, silk painting, Etsy, iconography, symbolism, scarves, serti

Webring

Powered by WebRing®.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.
FB.init("a8742a2ce04745d70e95e39516f4d1e0");
Janine Maves on Facebook

