Batik on Cotton

2 February 2009 at 5:33 pm 2 comments

Every so often, my friend and fellow textile artist Marcia gives me things to experiment with.   Recently, the goody bag contained hand-loomed cotton scarves.  I thought it’d be a great challenge for me to work outside the parallelogram and try using some bold shapes and bright colors on cotton.  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

tjanting I used a tjanting tool to lay down wax in the areas I planned to leave the cream color of the cotton, and used a wide brush to paint on Pro-Chem series H dyes that I mixed out of red and fuschia.   I could see that the color was creeping under the wax, so I flipped the piece over and waxed both sides of the fabric for my next color.  I used a foam brush to paint wax in simple fan shapes over the bright reds and oranges, as shown at right.  Once that had dried, I was hesitant to put down the next color — a dark cherry red that was nearly black.  As you can see below, it looked extremely dark next to the warmer colors.  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I ironed out most of the wax, wrapped the piece into a parcel, and steamed it to set the dyes.  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It took about ten rinses for me to get the excess dye out of the fabric, but when I did get the piece to rinse clear, I was pretty pleased with it. 

The two pictures showing the piece in progress were shot with a flash in my studio and, as a result, are much oranger than the true color.  The final photo on the right is closer to the actual result.

I’ve listed it in my Etsy shop if you’d like to see further details.

Entry filed under: All Posts, art and artists, latest projects. Tags: , , , , , , , .

A New Venture! Wordless Wednesday – Notes from Coaching Session with Marion

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kimberly hanson  |  4 February 2009 at 9:42 am

    Love it Janine!

    The process looks interesting and a bit complicated, and the end result is truly gorgeous, especially for a first try!

    Thanks for sharing your learnings and new techniques. It is great to have friends that help you learn new ideas.

    Reply
  • 2. Marcia and Martin  |  2 February 2009 at 9:47 pm

    Ok, I just referred to my notes from our favorite purchasing place and it says that you can prepare the fabric with the soda ash fixer, then paint with Liquid H Series dyes and cure damp (cover with plastic) for 12-24 hours and rinse and wash out. That way you do not have to add baking soda. Hope the silk painting police don’t read this. Try another one. (They do discharge also)
    Marcia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


1000 Markets
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 27,901 hits

Good Reads

Widget_logo

Archives

Tweets

Feeds

art, artists, silk painting, Etsy, iconography, symbolism, scarves, serti

Webring

Powered by WebRing®.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.
FB.init("a8742a2ce04745d70e95e39516f4d1e0");
Janine Maves on Facebook

