A New Venture!

26 January 2009 at 6:42 am 11 comments

falc1 I have been Althea Peregrine for many, many years.  I was/am one of those shy people who wasn’t/isn’t terribly comfortable talking about myself, and especially something as private as my art.  I invented Althea to do my marketing — she’s kind of a pushy broad who is more outgoing than I am and can do the things that need to be done to market me.  Althea is what my mother wanted to name me, and Peregrine is the pilgrim, as in “The romany are perpetually peregrine people.” 

Roshi28 Last year I decided to show some of my smaller work on a new online shop.  It didn’t feel comfortable to list a $20 purse next to a $500 assemblage, so I opened TalkingDog.*  I had a velcro dog at my side for ten years named Roshi Hope-Springs-Eternal.  He was my best friend and got me through some very difficult times.  He was a talker, hence the name.  Last February, I did a Google search and found a small hit or two for a TalkingDog who was an entertainment blogger.  This year I decided to buy the domain name and get a license for the business and, lo and behold, there were now TalkingDogs all over the web and someone else has parked the domain name.

Thus is born OneDogTalking.  It hits my funny bone because it’s so silly yet sounds like the deadly serious Dead Man Walking.  Irreverence took over:  I couldn’t help myself.   I’m gradually migrating all TalkingDog items to OneDogTalking on Etsy.  Come and give me a heart and a few view hits please!  Thank you!

frogfaceValentine * A few weeks after I opened the shop, my beloved Roshi suddenly developed asthma.  After his asthma attacks, he could barely walk and we had to put him to sleep.  It broke my heart to see his picture up constantly as my avatar.  TalkingDog became a friendly frog.      

Entry filed under: All Posts, art and artists, latest projects, symbols / personal iconography. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Wednesday – catching up Batik on Cotton

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. altheap  |  20 February 2009 at 11:13 am

    Thanks to everyone for their kind, kind notes!

    Reply
  • 2. Christie  |  28 January 2009 at 8:12 pm

    Aw, I’m sorry about Roshi, but I love your new shop name and I’ll be visiting soon.

    Reply
  • 3. Jean Levert Hood  |  27 January 2009 at 10:16 am

    I am so sorry about your precious Roshi. I know you’ll miss him terribly.

    My best to you for your new venture, I left you a heart!

    Reply
  • 4. maryeb  |  26 January 2009 at 6:44 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your dog. It’s so hard to lose an important family member.

    I think you’ve done a great job with the name change!!

    Reply
  • 5. Rose  |  26 January 2009 at 10:20 am

    Like the sound of your new shop name. Sorry to hear about your beloved dog though. It is hard to loss one that’s been near and dear for so many years.

    Reply
  • 6. Liv  |  26 January 2009 at 10:15 am

    I hope you have a ton of success with the new shop and name. That picture of Roshi is so sweet, It is easy to sense why you loved (love) him. Our animal companions never leave our hearts.

    Reply
  • 7. springreen  |  26 January 2009 at 10:04 am

    Oh I am so sorry about Roshi.

    Reply
  • 8. Christine  |  26 January 2009 at 8:31 am

    Thank you for posting about your new shop and your beloved Roshi. He was (and is) a gorgeous, friendly looking dog. At one point I was going to suggest you name your shop “SmilingDog.” 🙂 I’m so sorry you had to say goodbye.

    Reply
  • 9. Joan linenbroker  |  26 January 2009 at 8:24 am

    I like the new name too and so sorry to hear about you friend.
    Losing a beloved pet is so hard.

    Reply
  • 10. Chrissie  |  26 January 2009 at 7:02 am

    I like your new name and wish you every success under that banner!

    Reply
  • 11. Pat  |  26 January 2009 at 6:55 am

    So sorry to hear the sad news about your ‘friend’. However, we all know and love your frog avie!

    Good luck with OneDogTalking – I am sure it will be as good a successful story as Althea and TalkingDog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


1000 Markets
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 27,901 hits

Good Reads

Widget_logo

Archives

Tweets

Feeds

art, artists, silk painting, Etsy, iconography, symbolism, scarves, serti

Webring

Powered by WebRing®.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.
FB.init("a8742a2ce04745d70e95e39516f4d1e0");
Janine Maves on Facebook

