The Goddess of Brassempouy

5 January 2009 at 11:18 am 2 comments

BrassempouyThis is one of my favorite images in ancient art, a tiny fragment of ivory only 1 1/2 inches tall.  She may be diminutive, but she communicates more grace and pride-of-being than many a life-sized heroic statue.

goddesshang3She keeps coming back to haunt me, and over the years, I’ve used her in a number of projects.  In the silk painting on the left, I used her as a beneficient goddess overlooking a peaceful landscape.  The landscape is buffalopopulated with figures from rock drawings and petroglyphs.  I do love those ancient drawings — they seem to capture the women3spirits of beings so well. goddesshangdet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alicebook2I recently used my goddess again in a book cover I made for a good friend.  It turned out to be too small for her book of poetry, so I guess I should list this one in one of my shops.  It will fit an 8.5 x 11 tablet.

The Goddess of Brassempouy is also on my Etsy shop banner and lately is my avatar, as well.  Not to put too fine a point on it or anything, but I am the goddess after all.  lips

Entry filed under: All Posts, art and artists, symbols / personal iconography. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Here There be Dragons! The Corporate Soul Cage

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Staci Rosel  |  27 January 2009 at 12:31 am

    The Goddess Landscape is truly stunning! Gorgeous colors, lovely composition, and a definite nod to the goddess in us all. 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Elaine  |  5 January 2009 at 3:12 pm

    She is lovely and indeed you are the personification of the goddess!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


1000 Markets
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 28,218 hits

Good Reads

Widget_logo

Archives

Tweets

Feeds

art, artists, silk painting, Etsy, iconography, symbolism, scarves, serti

Webring

Powered by WebRing®.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.
FB.init("a8742a2ce04745d70e95e39516f4d1e0");
Janine Maves on Facebook

