Marcia, Silk Artist Extraordinaire!

2 November 2008 at 5:43 pm 4 comments

Marcia2I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know Marcia* in the past year, after we met on the internet when I was a Dharma Trading featured artist.  She invited me to visit her  brand new studio, and I’ve gone over to “play” at her house a dozen times since then.  I have learned so much.  Marcia is a great teacher, a really knowledgeable dyer, a great experimenter and an all-around wonderful muse.  She’s handyman taught me about all kinds of materials and techniques and has come to influence my work quite a bit.   I covet her studio.  Sometimes I even covet her husband, Martin, who’s that rare sort of man who sees ways to improve her work area and makes her all kinds of wonderful tools.  Can you imagine?  Without her even asking . . . or hinting . . . or nagging?

Marcia7 Marcia9 Marcia3 ‘Though I’ve referred to her often, I think I’ve neglected to mention her work, which is just beautiful.  Marcia is also a skilled and talented seamstress.  Her studio is full of wonderful examples of the jackets, wraps and scarves she has sold all over the Northeast.  Marcia hasn’t done any shows or fairs since moving to North Carolina, but I’m trying to convince her to open an Etsy shop.  I hope she does!

* (I’m not sure if she’d appreciate me using her last name . . . Marcia?)

Entry filed under: All Posts, art and artists. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Experiments in Silk Fusion My Banner Displayed!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pat  |  4 November 2008 at 2:40 am

    Beautiful work that is ‘dyeing’ to be on Etsy!!! Sorry about that. Seriously what is there to lose? Come on over!

    Reply
  • 2. brettward  |  3 November 2008 at 4:15 pm

    I think Marion will have to stand in line, behind me, to heart Marcia’s shop!!! Any friend of the “Dawg”, id a friend of mine!! Come on, join Etsy! What are you waiting for? hehehe
    Brett

    Reply
  • 3. marion barnett  |  3 November 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Stunning work. I want to be first to heart her new shop when she opens it!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Mary  |  3 November 2008 at 2:53 pm

    Marcia does gorgeous work. Let me know if she decides to join. I’ll definitely want to check out her shop.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


1000 Markets
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 28,218 hits

Good Reads

Widget_logo

Archives

Tweets

Feeds

art, artists, silk painting, Etsy, iconography, symbolism, scarves, serti

Webring

Powered by WebRing®.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.
FB.init("a8742a2ce04745d70e95e39516f4d1e0");
Janine Maves on Facebook

