Experiments in Silk Fusion

27 October 2008 at 6:03 am 3 comments

fusion!I’m taking Sue Bleiweiss‘s online silk fusion class and stretching my repertoire.  Sue makes incredibly beautiful journals for her Etsy shop, and everyone in our BBEST team covets them.  Sue’s lessons are terrifically organized, anticipating and answering questions as you go, so it’s a real treat.  She also creates a group forum on Yahoo for each class, so it’s quite easy to get questions answered, share info with other class members, and share photos of your projects.  I got most of my supplies through Dharma Trading, where I’ve had an account for over 20 years, so that part was easy, too!   I recommend the whole program highly!

I had no idea what silk fusion was, and now I understand the processes used by of some of my fellow Etsiers.  [Etsyers?  How would you spell that?]   Our first project was to make a piece of silk fusion, which we then made into a box.  Mine is a little clumsily sewn — I’m so impatient sewing these days! — but you get the idea.   Of course the roses help make it look good!

The second project was to use Paverpol to “sculpt” the fusion fabric.  I’m not too thrilled with the results of this project, but live and learn.  I cut the edges of one pot and decided that was a mistake, so I experimented with some leftover scraps from lesson one to embellish the pots.

felt_curl I dampened the leftover fusion strips, wrapped them around chopsticks and dowel rods wrapped in plastic and painted them with Paverpol.  When they were dry, I hot-glued them to the pots.

feltpot2

I think they’re pretty clumsy-looking, but then, they are my first!  My daughters are my most sincere critics.  M would clutch her tummy laughing at these!

Entry filed under: All Posts, art and artists, latest projects, processes in silk painting / surface design.

I Won a Blue Ribbon! Marcia, Silk Artist Extraordinaire!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary  |  27 October 2008 at 11:55 am

    Thanks for sharing your new adventures. It’s so fun to see what others are doing.
    I may just try one of Sue’s on-line classes.

    Reply
  • 2. Gunnel  |  27 October 2008 at 6:34 am

    I can understand you have fun! I have done some swaps with Sue, and I have one of her wonderful journals, she is very talented!

    Reply
  • 3. ZudaGay  |  27 October 2008 at 6:19 am

    It looks like great fun!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


1000 Markets
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 27,901 hits

Good Reads

Widget_logo

Archives

Tweets

Feeds

art, artists, silk painting, Etsy, iconography, symbolism, scarves, serti

Webring

Powered by WebRing®.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.
FB.init("a8742a2ce04745d70e95e39516f4d1e0");
Janine Maves on Facebook

