Out of Africa

10 September 2008 at 3:01 pm 5 comments

heavyAfrican3I’ve just posted a new silk painting in my shop on Etsy that I’m quite excited about.  I’ve written earlier about my love of ancient culture and my background in ancient art history, so I won’t outline all that again.  This hanging is composed of motifs from a few cultures, but I think they make a cohesive composition.   The beautiful ladies (at left, middle) are from Chad and date back to 3000 B.C.E.  The elegant giraffe (at left, bottom) is taken from Nigerian rock art and was carved around 4000 B.C.E.  The pot is from Iran’s Susa culture and dates back to 2800 B.C.E.

beautiful_ladiesI’ve attempted to catch the descriptive quality of the lines these ancient artists achieved and hope you agree my effort meets with success.  This painting is done on very nubby silk shantung, mimicking the rough stone surface of the originals.  The piece is 25″ wide and 32″ long.  I’ve decorated the bottom hem with colorful   ceramic disc beads from the giraffesisland of Mykonos.

This is definitely a multicultural piece of art!

Entry filed under: All Posts, art and artists, symbols / personal iconography.

An Award! A Major Award! So . . . what’s new?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marcia and Martin  |  14 September 2008 at 7:47 pm

    I love the piece on the silk shantung. Which reminds me, I came across a large piece of raw silk (cream colored) that you can have to do whatever with. It was passed to me by a NY designer that only used smooth silk. I never could think of a way to use it. See Ya soon. Marcia

    Reply
  • 2. Meera  |  12 September 2008 at 11:16 am

    Hi..
    May be one day you could come to bangalore and teacha short time course with my textile kids…
    Meera

    Reply
  • 3. Joan  |  11 September 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Lovely Janine.

    Reply
  • 4. Mary  |  10 September 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Giraffes are my very favorite African animal.
    Lovely piece that really captures their grace and beauty.

    Reply
  • 5. Dayna/Scottie Acres Boutique  |  10 September 2008 at 3:28 pm

    I love this piece.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


1000 Markets
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 28,066 hits

Good Reads

Widget_logo

Archives

Tweets

Feeds

art, artists, silk painting, Etsy, iconography, symbolism, scarves, serti

Webring

Powered by WebRing®.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.
FB.init("a8742a2ce04745d70e95e39516f4d1e0");
Janine Maves on Facebook

