An Award! A Major Award!

10 September 2008 at 2:19 pm 6 comments

brilliant (I’ve always wanted to use that line from A Christmas Story. )

My friend and fellow crafter on Etsy, Sassalynne, has awarded me the Brillante Weblog Award.  (I think it should actually be the Brilliant Weblog, but what do I know?  Is brillante Italian?)

Sassalynne has the most astonishing grasp of color and her work always inspires me to get myself into my studio to attempt to come close to her skills.  She has over 20 years experience as a textile artist and her viscose and threads have been used in costumes for the Royal Shakespeare Company, among others.  She has a second Etsy shop under the name Paper Patches which features tissue-dyed monoprints.  She always has about 97 interesting blog sites, but my favorite is http://nuvofelt.blogspot.com/.

As a winner of this award, my mission is to nominate seven other blogs for the award.  (Bloggers:  I know some friends have already been nominated, so I haven’t added you even though I regularly read your blog.  To those I’ve listed:  I apologize if you’ve been nominated more than once, but there’s no need to let me know 😉 )

1. http://preciousquilts.blogspot.com/
2. http://thefiligreegarden.com/blog/
3. http://sixsistersiam3.blogspot.com/
4. http://alis-clair.blogspot.com/
5. http://bethpeardonprods.blogspot.com/
6. http://thewildhare.blogspot.com/
7. http://suebleiweiss.typepad.com/

Here are the rules for the nominees:
1) Add the logo of the award to your blog
2) Add a link to the person who awarded it to you
3) Nominate 7 other blogs
4) Add links to those blogs on your blog
5) Leave a message for your nominees on their blogs
Check them out!

Now, about this award:  I’ve searched Snopes and other hoax sites and have come up blank.  Google has pages and pages of hits questioning the origin of the award, but the most thoughtful post I found concerning it is on the blog site of Quilting Journey.  The bottom line is that any award given in good intent deserves a thank you, so thank you! 

Entry filed under: archive. Tags: , , , , , .

An Attack of History Out of Africa

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kimberly  |  16 September 2008 at 8:37 am

    Janine, thank you so much for the nomination! I am delighted to be the recipient of this award, and will step up my blog site in response!

    Glad you are thinking of me, I am thinking of you too!

    Reply
  • 2. Alis  |  11 September 2008 at 5:02 am

    Thank you so much Janine. I feel very honoured to be part of this great list.

    Reply
  • 3. Myfanwy  |  11 September 2008 at 3:14 am

    LOL, you missed a few. I have 197 blog sites 😉 (well, that’s what it feels like sometimes.)

    Reply
  • 4. Pat  |  11 September 2008 at 2:23 am

    Gosh, what an honour Janine! Thank you so much…. now to put my thinking cap on!

    Reply
  • 5. Liv  |  10 September 2008 at 6:05 pm

    Thank you for including my blog! I appreciate being on your list.

    Reply
  • 6. Sue B  |  10 September 2008 at 5:01 pm

    Thank you so much Althea! I’m very flattered to be on this list!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


1000 Markets
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 28,218 hits

Good Reads

Widget_logo

Archives

Tweets

Feeds

art, artists, silk painting, Etsy, iconography, symbolism, scarves, serti

Webring

Powered by WebRing®.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.
FB.init("a8742a2ce04745d70e95e39516f4d1e0");
Janine Maves on Facebook

