A Happy End to the Sad Experiment

11 July 2008 at 11:20 pm 2 comments

When we last saw our heroine’s rayon/silk fringed scarf on June __ (below), it was a sorry piece with traces of faces and color memories.  I had pretreated the piece in a wash of soda ash, thinking I could paint it and iron it to set the color instead of steaming it to make it colorfast.  It did not work out that way, and all my lovely color disaster2went down the drain.  I’ve learned that the soda ash prewash doesn’t work the same on rayon, and this scarf’s fiber content is 83% rayon, 17% silk.

I started over on the same piece with similar colors, using the same fiber reactive dyes I used in the original version.  I used black paint instead of fiber reactive dye for the face details.  It’s still not exactly as I had envisioned it, but I feel it’s successful nonetheless.

fringefaces6fringefaces4It is listed at my Etsy shop, AltheaP, as 13297461.  Stop by the shop if you’d like to see all views of this piece and all my other work.

(I’m fairly certain that the face on the lower right is Brett from VanFleetStreet Designs.)

Entry filed under: All Posts.

Science Fiction Art Festivus in July Sale!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VanFleetStreetDesign  |  3 August 2008 at 8:15 am

    Well, I have to agree with Zuda in saying that it was a wonderful save. Funny that you should attach me to the person on your beautiful scarf. I think I make it beautiful, don’t you? (LOL)
    Great job Janine. You’re work is absolutely gorgeous.
    Brett

    Reply
  • 2. ZudaGay  |  12 July 2008 at 8:01 am

    Oh Janine!! It came out beautiful!!! I am so glad you could redo it! The colors are fabulous and the faces… Hummm….Brett? I need to look closer. 🙂 Wonderful save!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


1000 Markets
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 28,218 hits

Good Reads

Widget_logo

Archives

Tweets

Feeds

art, artists, silk painting, Etsy, iconography, symbolism, scarves, serti

Webring

Powered by WebRing®.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.
FB.init("a8742a2ce04745d70e95e39516f4d1e0");
Janine Maves on Facebook

