Science Fiction Art

7 July 2008 at 11:56 pm 6 comments

When I got back into the creative habit 20 years ago after a ten-year drought, I was addicted to Star Trek, the Next Generation.  I was active in the Unitarian community at that time, and facilitated a ten-week seminar in feminist spirituality.  I was  simultaneously involved in a creative dream group hosted by Lucy Daniels, a psychiatrist and author who is known for her work in the field of creative psychology.   All these experiences fused together for me and I produced some of my Lseries3favorite art during this time.

I composed my own “alphabet” loosely based on the prehistoric petroglyphs of Eastern European matriarchal societies (see the work of Marita Gimbutas).  All my life, I’ve had a problem making myself understood, and writing in pictures known only to myself gave me a sort of power over that lack of communication.  (Perhaps a bit passive-aggressive?)

experiment The collage to the right is called L-series III.  It seems to be like a word or idea at the brink of being understood, but somehow failing; familiar and alien at the same time.  The collage on the left is An experiment in non-linear time and is meant to represent a child unmoored by the lack of communication with its parent.

actualMy dear friend Julie has often referred to Star Trek’s Captain Picard as embodying the best of Unitarian principles . . . the interconnected web of existence . . . seeing the inherent dignity of all people . . .  the absolute role of justice and compassion in human relationships.  I suppose we’re closet Trekkies, if middle-aged women who would never consider attending a Con can take on that role.  I’ve often been told I have an “overdeveloped” need for justice; my heroes seem to be Superman, Aeschylus and Captain Picard.   At any rate, I was completely taken by Data’s dialog and produced a couple of works with titles based on his vocabulary.  The one above is entitled Actual unretouched photo of children manipulating the space/time continuum.  All parents know that children do this.  The role of the space/time continuum is played by a photo of the endless escalators on the DC Metro.Lseries4

Not all the work I created during this period was quite so “loaded.”  The one at right is entitled L-series IV.  As well as using my private symbology, there’s use of the joyous images that make me whole.  These include pictures of the beach, letters from my great friend Felicia, wonderful little stickers (a new fad at the time), and pictures of my girls.  My girls are 24 now, but I’m still stunned by the fierceness of the mother-bear love they bring out.

I’m also rather stunned at how bad these photos are . . . look closely and you’ll clearly see my reflection at the bottom of the image above.  I swear I never noticed that before and that picture is at least 14 years old.  Oh man, how many shows did I submit that slide to???

Entry filed under: All Posts, art and artists. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Boomer bbest friends A Happy End to the Sad Experiment

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elaine  |  12 July 2008 at 10:02 am

    Wow.. another thing we have in common 🙂 I have watch STNG all the way through seven seasons, 3 times now, and am totally and madly in love with Jean Luc!!

    Reply
  • 2. JillsTreasureChest  |  12 July 2008 at 8:17 am

    Janine, I loved Star Trek too, especially Next Generation. Captain Picard is the best–and that voice!
    Thank you for sharing your creativity.

    Reply
  • 3. Liv  |  8 July 2008 at 7:50 pm

    This was an interesting insight into one side of your creative process.

    Reply
  • 4. Judy Nolan  |  8 July 2008 at 6:35 pm

    How wonderfully reflective these photographs (and your writing about them) are!

    Reply
  • 5. ZudaGay  |  8 July 2008 at 6:14 pm

    I like these!! Very cool! Who knew we would have to learn so much about photography?

    Reply
  • 6. Joan  |  8 July 2008 at 5:26 am

    Janine maybe they thought your image was part of the piece.
    Very informative . I am a trekkie too. I am always drawn to
    ideas of peace and balance in the universe. I guess a craving
    would be more accurate. Great blog

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


1000 Markets
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 28,344 hits

Good Reads

Widget_logo

Archives

Tweets

Feeds

art, artists, silk painting, Etsy, iconography, symbolism, scarves, serti

Webring

Powered by WebRing®.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.
FB.init("a8742a2ce04745d70e95e39516f4d1e0");
Janine Maves on Facebook

