A sad experiment

26 June 2008 at 10:57 pm 2 comments

I had a lovely piece of fringed silk and rayon that I thought would look too busy if I used my regular serti process, so I decided to try something new (to me).   Wonderful textile artists on Etsy, my friend Marcia, and now my new book by Holly Brackmann have been telling me that I really don’t need to steam fiber reactive disprocess1dyes.  I made a solution of nine tablespoons soda ash mixed in hot water, soaked my silk in it for about 15 minutes, and let it drip dry.  I stretched the piece and started in on my color.   I used some mixes made of older chemical water, but figured the soda ash would override the age of the premixed dyes.  Bad guess.

disaster3I thought it would be fun to work with the existing pattern and have some mysterious faces peeking through the flora, so I blocked some areas out in a pale brown mixed with coral and water.  I thought this would be a good time to use the good true black sample of French dye Marcia had given me and was really pleased with the way it made the facial features pop.  I let it sit 24 hours, then figured I’d better get the soda ash out.

disaster1I knew there’d be color going down the sink, butdisaster2 I never thought I’d lose all my detail.  The view on the left is the “before” view.  The photo on the right is the same area of the scarf  “after.”  Sigh.  If you look really closely, you can barely make out the eye and mouth.  The chartreuse and aqua washed out, too, but I really like the watery look.  Or, at least, I’m telling myself I like the watery effect instead of the forest-y look of the original.

Entry filed under: All Posts.

A funny thing happened on the way . . . Boomer bbest friends

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chrissie  |  27 June 2008 at 8:31 am

    Oh Janine – you must have been so crestfallen when you saw the results, I really feel for you. It’s horrid when you put so much effort in and things go wrong. You’ll have to look for the silver lining and put it down to experience (easy to say!). Or you could hop on a plane and come to France with me …

    Reply
  • 2. Myfanwy  |  27 June 2008 at 7:09 am

    How sad and frustrating for you. I have tried other methods too, but always go back to tried and trusted. If you have time – can you repeat the experiment with the steaming?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


1000 Markets
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Blog Stats

  • 28,344 hits

Good Reads

Widget_logo

Archives

Tweets

Feeds

art, artists, silk painting, Etsy, iconography, symbolism, scarves, serti

Webring

Powered by WebRing®.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.
FB.init("a8742a2ce04745d70e95e39516f4d1e0");
Janine Maves on Facebook

